Sentinel Staff Report
Article Launched: 01/31/2008 3:00:00 AM PST

Josie Jacques-Maynes just got a promotion.

The Captiola cyclist went from runner-up to cyclocross national champion last week when Maureen Bruno-Roy, the first to cross the finish line in the women's 30-34 age group at the U.S. Cyclocross Championships in Kansas City in December, was disqualified. Bruno-Roy was disqualified for entering a masters race as an elite rider. The Arlington, Mass., rider became classified as an elite after she placed 26th at the Koksijde World Cup in Belgium, but said she was unaware of the status change.

Riders from Santa Cruz County nearly swept all the women's divisions Sunday in the final Peak Season Cyclocross meet of the season, held at the Santa Cruz Fairgrounds in Watsonville. They did nearly the same in the series standings.

Led by Stella Carey of Felton, who won the Category A race and the series title, locals claimed all but one of the five women's single-race titles and five of seven series titles.

Harbor High student Lainey Aldridge won the Cat. C race Sunday, Nikki Hiltz of Aptos won the Junior women's race and Janel Lodge of Santa Cruz won the Masters women's race. No locals entered the Cat. B race.

Carey beat out Mary-Anne Hunter of Soquel in the series. Dede Cowden of Capitola took the Cat. C title over Aldridge. Harbor rider Kaylie Grey beat out Nikki Hiltz of Aptos for the 18-under title, while Lodge edged Melinda Jones of Santa Cruz for the Masters 35+ award. Martha Bedal raced uncontested for the Masters 55+ title.

On the men's side Sunday, Mark Howland of Santa Cruz won the Masters men 35+ A race. Tim Sawyer of Santa Cruz took the top prize in the Masters men 45+ B race, while Ron Riley of Aptos won the Masters men 65+. Darik Thunstrom of Boulder Creek won the Junior men 13-under division ahead of Thomas Mendoza of Santa Cruz. Max Frazier, Oliver Nickell and Raymond Mendoza swept the Junior 18-under division.

Sawyer, Thunstrom and Riley also won the series title in their divisions. They were joined by Cat. A series winner Andy Jacques-Maynes of Capitola, Single Speed champ Scott Chapin of Soquel and Junior 18-under victor Oliver Nickell of Santa Cruz.