Sentinel Staff Report
Article Launched: 12/21/2006 3:00:00 AM PST

Santa Cruz County cyclocross racers put on an impressive show, but didn't bring back any wins at the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships in Providence, R.I., last weekend.

In the Elite Men's race Sunday, Barry Wicks of Santa Cruz placed sixth of 115 entrants. He completed the 25.6-kilometer course in 1 hour, 41 seconds, a little more than a minute behind winner Ryan Trebon of Ventura. Ben Jacques-Maynes, a former UC Santa Cruz rider, was right behind him in seventh [1:01:20] and Andy Jacques-Maynes of Watsonville took 10th [1:02:02].

In Master Men's events Saturday, the county's racers fared even better. Henry Kramer of Watsonville took second in the 50-54 age group, finishing the 16.5k track in 42:27. In the 30-34 age group, Justin Robinson of Bonny Doon completed the 19.8k course in 50:10 for eighth and Simon Vickers of Santa Cruz was 10th [50:32].

The 40-44 age group race proved full of excitement as Gannon Myall of Watsonville worked his way up from starting in 99th place [out of 142] to finishing fifth [41:56]. Myall wasn't quite able to catch the lead pack of four racers, which included Cal Giant Strawberries teammate Todd Hoefer of Watsonville. Hoefer lost the sprint to the finish and ended just a second back from winner Mark Noble of Oxnard [41:24] in the 16.5k race.

Also, in the 16.5k Master Women's 30-34 race, Capitola residents Josie Beggs [47:34] and Sarah Kerlin [48:12] finished sixth and seventh, respectively.

Competitors came from as far as Quebec, Canada, for the first Peak Season race of the season at the Santa Cruz County Fairgrounds in Watsonville. But, the local contingent proved tough to beat.

Santa Cruz racers Mary-Anne Hunter, Natasha Perry and Lindsey Collins swept the top three spots in the Women's B category. And, the Women's 35+ went to Kathleen Bortolussi of Aptos, followed by Juliana Perry of Santa Cruz and Melanie Dominguez of Aptos.

Other winners included Raymond Mendoza of Santa Cruz [Junior Men 14-under], Nikki Hiltz of Aptos [Junior Women], Ron Riley of Santa Cruz [Master Men 65+], Mark Howland of Santa Cruz [Master Men 35+] and Chris Baker of Soquel [Master Men 45+].

Benoit Simard of Quebec won the Men's A race, but was closely pursued by Santa Cruz's Aaron Kereluck, who took second.